Coverart for item
The Resource Healing children : a surgeon's stories from the frontiers of pediatric medicine, Kurt Newman, M.D

Healing children : a surgeon's stories from the frontiers of pediatric medicine, Kurt Newman, M.D

Label
Healing children : a surgeon's stories from the frontiers of pediatric medicine
Title
Healing children
Title remainder
a surgeon's stories from the frontiers of pediatric medicine
Statement of responsibility
Kurt Newman, M.D
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A groundbreaking medical memoir by one of our nation's leading pediatric surgeons - the visionary head of Children's National - for fans of Jerome Groopman and Atul Gwande. Anyone who has seen a child recover from a deep wound or a broken bone knows that kids are made to heal. Their bodies are more resilient, more adaptive, and far more able to withstand acute stress than adults. And yet children are often treated as an afterthought by the medical establishment and shunted off to doctors who specialize in treating adults. Will an anesthesiologist accustomed to treating older patients know how best to handle a toddler going under for the first time? If your soccer-playing daughter suffers a concussion, should you take her to the nearest ER--or drive further to seek out doctors who specialize in treating kids? In this deeply inspiring memoir Dr. Kurt Newman draws from his long experience as a pediatric surgeon working at one of our nation's top children's hospitals to make the case that children are more than miniature adults. Through the story of his own career and deeply moving accounts of the brave kids he has treated over the years (and their equally brave and determined parents) he reveals the revolution that is taking place in pediatric medicine"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
618.92
Index
index present
LC call number
RJ47
LC item number
.N49 2017
Literary form
non fiction
NLM call number
WZ 100
Label
Healing children : a surgeon's stories from the frontiers of pediatric medicine, Kurt Newman, M.D
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Includes index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Part I: Discovering children -- The walk across the bridge -- Learning empathy -- Born to heal -- Making mistakes -- Finding a mentor -- The head coach and his team -- Never trust the notes -- If you can teach -- You never can tell how far a frog can jump -- How to hold a baby -- "There are no conflicts of interest here" -- Part II: Vital lessons -- Old school -- Maternal instinct -- Trauma -- That phantom pain -- The patient in the data -- The Mayor -- A man with a plan -- Part III: New frontiers -- Thinking bigger -- Navigating the hospital -- Mental health -- A child's life -- What you don't know -- Brains -- Bones -- The science of pain -- Peering into the developing brain -- Cancer -- Epilogue: The best man at his own wedding -- Eight ways to get the best medical care for your kids
Control code
ocn980941602
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
viii, 262 pages
Isbn
9780525428831
Lccn
2017025373
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)980941602
Label
Healing children : a surgeon's stories from the frontiers of pediatric medicine, Kurt Newman, M.D
Publication
Note
Includes index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Part I: Discovering children -- The walk across the bridge -- Learning empathy -- Born to heal -- Making mistakes -- Finding a mentor -- The head coach and his team -- Never trust the notes -- If you can teach -- You never can tell how far a frog can jump -- How to hold a baby -- "There are no conflicts of interest here" -- Part II: Vital lessons -- Old school -- Maternal instinct -- Trauma -- That phantom pain -- The patient in the data -- The Mayor -- A man with a plan -- Part III: New frontiers -- Thinking bigger -- Navigating the hospital -- Mental health -- A child's life -- What you don't know -- Brains -- Bones -- The science of pain -- Peering into the developing brain -- Cancer -- Epilogue: The best man at his own wedding -- Eight ways to get the best medical care for your kids
Control code
ocn980941602
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
viii, 262 pages
Isbn
9780525428831
Lccn
2017025373
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)980941602

Library Locations

    • Sharon Public LibraryBorrow it
      11 North Main Street, Sharon, MA, 02067, US
      42.1241 -71.1782999
Processing Feedback ...